Youtube Channel: The Compassion Network

Loading...

12/17/2009

Activate Compassion with Karen Armstrong

This Friday, December 18th, Karen Armstrong will host a one hour Facebook conversation on compassionate action. Join her at 6pm GMT (1pm EST/10am PST) on the discussion boards and click the link titled "LIVE DISCUSSION WITH KAREN ARMSTRONG 12/18".Focusing on the calls to action in the Charter (posted below), participants can ask her about and read her thoughts on how we can use the Charter as a summons to creative, practical and sustained action to meet the political, moral, religious, social and cultural problems of our time.

We therefore call upon all men and women ~ to restore compassion to the centre of morality and religion ~ to return to the ancient principle that any interpretation of scripture that breeds violence, hatred or disdain is illegitimate ~ to ensure that youth are given accurate and respectful information about other traditions, religions and cultures ~ to encourage a positive appreciation of cultural and religious diversity ~ to cultivate an informed empathy with the suffering of all human beings—even those regarded as enemies.

No comments:

Post a Comment